” I can’t.. understand why.. Joseph and Oliver were baptized just after receiving the priesthood of Aaron, if baptism is a saving ordinance of the gospel..”

While I was on the cruise I got the following email from a person in Canada

 

Hello Watcher,

I was wondering if you could send me a pdf of the timeline of Church History you used in your YouTube video?

Here is my email : xxxx@hotmail.com

I also have a question : In one of your post concerning the priesthood, you mentioned that shortly after The Lord restored the priesthood of Aaron, He restored the patriarchal priesthood “which contains the apostolic priesthood authority to dispense the saving ordinances of the gospel”. I can’t get to understand why then Joseph and Oliver were baptized just after receiving the priesthood of Aaron, if baptism is a saving ordinance of the gospel, and not after receiving the patriarchal priesthood through Peter, James and John? Is the priesthood of Aaron a portion of the patriarchal priesthood restored by Peter, James and John, in which only the ordinance of baptism can be perform?

I would really appreciate if you could help me understand that.

Thank you!

Stébane

The person asks a profoundly important question.

After all, Joseph taught that the lesser Aaronic/Levitical priesthood only had to do with the carnal commandments and could not provide blessings, only cursings.

“[The] Levitical [Priesthood] .. was never able to administer a Blessing but only to bind heavy burdens which neither they nor their father able to bear”
The Words of Joseph Smith, p.243-248; Given 27 August 1843

And yet baptism is a gospel blessing that Joseph and Oliver were blessed to have as a result of the keys of the priesthood of Aaron that John the Baptist restored. Further, the fruits of the baptism that followed the bestowal of the priesthood which John the Baptist bestowed was a spiritual outpouring of prophesying and spiritual enlightenment.

“Immediately on our coming up out of the water after we had been baptized, we experienced great and glorious blessings from our Heavenly Father. No sooner had I baptized Oliver Cowdery, than the Holy Ghost fell upon him, and he stood up and prophesied many things which should shortly come to pass. And again, so soon as I had been baptized by him, I also had the spirit of prophecy, when, standing up, I prophesied concerning the rise of this Church, and many other things connected with the Church, and this generation of the children of men. We were filled with the Holy Ghost, and rejoiced in the God of our salvation.

Our minds being now enlightened, we began to have the scriptures laid open to our understandings, and the true meaning and intention of their more mysterious passages revealed unto us in a manner which we never could attain to previously, nor ever before had thought of. In the meantime we were forced to keep secret the circumstances of having received the Priesthood and our having been baptized, owing to a spirit of persecution which had already manifested itself in the neighborhood.”
JH 1:68

I told him I would respond shortly after I returned from the cruise.

My answer to him my surprise you and challenge your paradigm of priesthood that you have, as a result of years of indoctrination in the corporate church. The simple, yet shocking answer to the question is that the term “Priesthood of Aaron” is not always synonymous with the term “Aaronic Priesthood“-

priesthood of aaron

For a more detailed explanation with documentation, see the following video

 

Comments are closed.

