Notable Emails #20 “I found your blog just about two months ago. What a revelation! I am alone in this search. Friends and family insist the leaders of the church will not lead us a stray. “

 

Email from BA

“Hi Watcher,

I found your blog just about two months ago.  What a revelation! Thank you for sharing your efforts online.  I don’t know if my veil of darkness would ever have been illuminated. 

I am an active member of the church, an honest seeker of truth.  I am alone in this search.  Friends and family insist the leaders of the church will not lead us a stray.  I know this is not founded in scripture, but it seemingly doesn’t make it any easier to wake them up.

Besides family, the hardest part is reconciling the church with my new understanding. it’s not black and white like I taught on my mission.  I believe the church maintains authority, but not a much as is implied.  I guess it is similar to the Israelites after Moses left, or even like the Jews at the time of Christ. Though precepts of men have been mingled with scripture, somehow there is still some authority and some truth.  A the lady’s comment on your book is how I feel: to have permission to use discernment and to work out my own salvation.

I would love to get a copy of the chapters on the intercessory atonement.

Thank you again,”

My Response:

Great to hear from you!

Be patient and not pushy with you friends and loved ones. Everyone is on their own learning curve. Be prudent and don’t become angry…

I agree with you. The church still has a calling and the authority to do that calling. They promote the Book of Mormon which contains the fulness of the gospel which is critical in teaching people about the truth and bringing people to Christ.

Here you go my friend.

Enjoy

Attention all Watchers in Russia

Email from JD

“HI, Watcher, I’ve been following your blog a very long time.
Recently I remembered about a brother from Russia who wrote to you
asking questions.
Since I’m in Russia now, I was wondering if that brother would be OK
with you sharing his email.
Maybe, we happen to be in the same locality and can meet up or something.
It’s a bit lonely here without a kindred spirit who is on the same page
with me.

Cheers.”

[If you are one who is watching and waiting, who lives in Russia, and would like to hoof up with a fellow believer, please contact me and I will get you in touch with the person above]

Email From GM

“I think I see where you believe the church is deficient and not in possession of all that it claims, but do you acknowledge it still has some authority and legitimacy?”

My Response:

Absolutely.

Section 118 pretty much sums up their authority.

They are to

1- promulgate the gospel (according to the prophecy in 3 Nephi 16 take the “knowledge of the gospel” to the House of Israel)

2– Testify of the name of Christ

I think they do both of those commissions quite will, although they package some truth claims in with those to commissions that are not accurate

His reply

“I notice you left out redeem the dead, which I believe is one of the three church claimed missions that it has,  are you saying there is no scriptural backing for this claim?

So if I understand correctly, this authority comes from the lesser preparatory Gospel of Abraham?  

 And it does not include priesthood authority to officiate in any kind of temple work?  

 And if this is so, how would you explain Woodruff’s encounter with the Founding Fathers and other dignitaries in the St. George temple?”

My response

I do  not think the “temple work” that we have morphed into is part of the fulness of the gospel. Indeed, the Book of Mormon contained the fulness of the gospel, where is temple work mentioned in the Book of Mormon?

Further, when it was actually on the earth during the 3 1/2 years, where was the “temple work”?

The masonic temple endowment that we have been given is no where to be found in the four standard works.. and we have been told in several place what the simple fulness of the gospel is and that “more or less” than what we have been given “cometh of evil”

I don’t believe the St George Temple story.

Rock brought up some good points in his article on it as well, but even beyond the points he brought up, there is no substantiation behind the whole temple thing.

http://puremormonism.blogspot.com/2013/04/wilford-woodruffs-pants-are-on-fire.html

 

His reply

“Thanks for that link – your helping me see many mormon myths and legends with new eyes”

 Email from GC (This guy gets of his mission in December!)

 “Heya Watcher,

Loving the updates on the book and stuff. I’d love to be part of the
peer review if I could! I’ll definitely purchase a copy when I get off
the mission (Dec 30). But you offered to send out chapters 3, 4, 5,
through email. I’d love to peruse those chapters if you send them my
way.

A mini book on Joseph’s offering might be a really good idea. I’ve
introduced many missionaries to the concept that Joseph Smith offered
a temporal atonement offering, and they all surprisingly find it
intriguing, even plausible.

Male and female composite beings in the afterlife, on the other hand,
is way off the table apparently. Only one Elder could thus far be open
to the possibility. It’s funny, because when I first read your
analysis of Section 49 I was immediately open to the idea, yet
everyone else is seemingly baffled by the prospect.

I would have thought that the concept of Joseph performing an
atonement would be instantly rejected, but for some reason it’s
catching on. I guess it’s time.

Much love,”

email from RN

“Watcher,

 I just finished watching this video.

 Your insight into the Pope’s visit is astounding.

 I’m amazed at how easy you make it appear to be able to pull from current events and tie them to scripture.

 Wow!

 I can’t wait to read your post on it later or watch another video on it.

 However, I wanted to write you about something else that I discovered in the video. Something that I don’t think you caught. Something that I think is quite important and profound.

 I like what you shared from your Scottish reader about DC 59:8-9 and DC 110:5. Very profound indeed.

 D&C 59

Thou shalt offer a sacrifice unto the Lord thy God in righteousness, even that of a broken heart and a contrite spirit.

 And that thou mayest more fully keep thyself unspotted from the world, thou shalt go to the house of prayer and offer up thy sacraments upon my holy day;

D&C 110

 Behold, your sins are forgiven you; you are clean before me; therefore, lift up your heads and rejoice.

However, just before that you shared how there is a changing of days. From the Day of Gentile -Gospel of Christ to the Day of the House of Israel-Gospel of Abraham.

I never thought of it in that way before.

So when I was reading DC 59 I had a nagging feeling to continue on reading with verse 10 and discovered something that I don’t think I would’ve discovered otherwise if it wasn’t for your commentary.

Check it out:

 10 For verily this is a day appointed unto you to rest from your labors, and to pay thy devotions unto the Most High;

I don’t know if you caught that or not.

 

If this was to be a future prophecy, which I believe it to be after what you said about there not being a house of the Lord yet. Check this out.

10 For verily this is a day appointed unto you to rest from your labors

Any normal reading of the verse in context would make you think that the Lord is referring to the Sabbath as a day for us to rest from our labors.

But in the light of the transition from the Day of the Gentile to the Day of the House of Israel, the Lord is telling Joseph that this new day shall be a day of rest from his labors.

What labors?

From trying to gather and redeem Zion. That he shall rest from that work for a little season.

I found this to be profound and wanted to share it with you and thank you for leading me down this path and all that you’re doing for the Saints with Faith.”

My Response

INCREDIBLE FIND!!!!!!

Thank you for sharing

[This  is a great example of why I refer the book as being crowd-sourced. This person and the guy from Scotland and many others have shared so many ah-has with me over the years which have been so important in the creation of the book! Ultimately, praise be to God for his marvelous mercy and condescensions in beginning to take the veil of darkness off of our minds and teaching us his truths]

Notable Emails #19- “Sometime ago I had an extraordinary experience where I was forgiven of some of my sins”
 Notable Emails #18- “I wake up every morning with this intense feeling that we are getting closer”
 Notable Emails #17 “Then shall the offering of Judah and Jerusalem be pleasant unto the LORD, as in the days of old, and as in former years.”
 Notable Emails #16 “the Lord wouldn’t give a young church such responsibility so early”
Notable Emails #15: “It would be so hard to do if we didn’t have the word crunching software available to us to use. Now I can see why so many are deceived. “
 Notable Emails #14 (b) “who was the legal heir and successor of the Prophet Joseph Smith, Jr.?”
 Notable Emails #14 (a) “Baptism for the dead is illogical and pretty much impossible to ever accomplish”
 Notable Emails Part 13 “Gileadi compares the Servant to Hezekiah, in that he answered for the temporal sins of the people and acted as a proxy savior”
 Notable Emails Part 12 “the scriptures will become corrupted and deceive the elect and give Satan power”
 Notable Emails Part 9 “My number one desire right now is to protect my wife and honor her tender feelings about the gospel as she understands it.”
 Notable Emails Part 8 “Who are the Jews and Gentiles?
Notable Emails Part 7 “My eyes have been opened”
Notable Emails Part 6: “Can anyone tell me anything about this blog?… This guy seems to have some new ideas I’ve never heard before using the scriptures to back his views.
Notable Emails Part 5: “the truths that both you and I hold so dear …are things that cannot be taught they can only be revealed.”
Notable Emails- Part 4 “I have now caught the spirit of watching along with you and others.”
Notable Emails- Part 3 “Have you ever read ‘Letter to a CES Director?’” Yes… and it has strengthened my testimony!
Notable Emails- Part 2: “Readers deserve to know if you truly are a heretic or just a faithful divergent thinker”
Notable Emails Part 1- Mormon Missionary: “I too am watching”
Comments are closed.

