Notable Emails Part 12 “the scriptures will become corrupted and deceive the elect and give Satan power”

A few years ago I acquired a friend through this blog that we will call “R”. He has recently been serving in a Bishopric but he moved recently so I don’t think he is in the position currently. He is one of the people that is always bringing up facinating observations and questions. I love the cross-pollination that take place when gospel discussion takes place.

Late last night I got the following email from him:

Watcher,
 .
In all your research and studying have you ever come across a prophecy or scripture implying that the scriptures will become corrupted and deceive the elect and give Satan power?
 .
Something like a cross between what the Lord revealed about the lost 110 pages in section 10 and 1 Ne. 13?
 .
Just curious and a thought I had after reading your last post on the Holy Ghost. “

 

“Interesting question.
 .
Yes and no.

.
I do think there is evidence to support the corruption of scripture, however, I don’t know if that is the primary cause of the elect being deceived, or the result of the elect being deceived. 
 .
the Book of Mormon speaks of important things taken out of the Bible and because of that, it becomes a stumbling block to the gentiles.
 .
 Obviously, there is the warning from the Lord in the BofC wherein the Lord will deliver the saints over to Satan. The sixty four dollar question is, how does the Lord deliver the saints over to Satan. I have pondered that one.
.
One thing that He noted was that he was withdrawing his spirit from the inhabitants of the earth. That would prevent people from understanding scripture through personal revelation. Another possibility is that by covering the eyes of the seers, they could prophesy falsely and teach false doctrine and conceivably deliver false revelations. I am amazed at how many people are starting to reject the Bible and D&C as credible scripture.

Then there is JST Matthew 23:10

“0 But woe unto you, Scribes and Pharisees, hypocrites! For ye shut up the kingdom of heaven against men; for ye neither go in yourselves, neither suffer ye them that are entering to go in.
 .
How exactly do the scribes and pharisees prevent people from entering into the kingdom of heaven? Is it by teaching false doctrine? offering ordinances of salvation that are void of authority? Alter scripture?”
 .
It appears that JST Luke 11:53 is a variation of the passage using the term “Key of Knowledge”
 .
“Woe unto you, lawyers! For ye have taken away the key of knowledge, the fullness of the scriptures; ye enter not in yourselves into the kingdom; and those who were entering in, ye hindered.”
 .
He seems to be expressly stating that the scribes and pharisees had taken away the fulness of the scriptures, which is the key of knowledge by which people can be saved. That is a really interesting passage given the declaration in the D&C and by JS that the salvation of the church depended upon the JST being completed.”
 .
Next reply from “R” which I got early this AM
 .
“Yes, I agree. I can see the LDS church members walking around with their triple combinations loaded with false doctrines like D&C 132 believing that they have the fullness and true and correct doctrines at their finger tips. 
 .
Like you, there are so many teachings that I have taken as gospel truths that really aren’t. Like prophet infallibility and the couplet: “As man is God once was and as God is man may become.”
 .
I can’t help but see why Alma needed to   “try the virtue of the word of God” with the Zoramites in Alma 31:5. They too had become corrupt themselves believing that they were superior to others with their perversions of the scriptures. 
 .
What a glorious day it will be when the fulness of the scriptures will be revealed to put down all false doctrines and confound the wise. 
 .
May that day come soon.”
 .
Follow up reply from “R”
 .
“One more thing… You asked how we are turned over to Satan. I’m sure there are many ways this happens. 
 .
However, after I sent my last email I read Alma 25:6 were the Lamanites begin to “disbelieve the traditions of their fathers, and to believe in the Lord.” 
 .
I remembered D&C 93:39 “that wicked one cometh and taketh away light and truth through disobedience, from the children of men, and because of the tradition of their fathers.”
 .
You’ll notice that section 93 is singular while Alma is a plural traditions. 
 .
Hmm. 
 .
I’m going to have to research that. 
 .
What could that one singular tradition be that causes us to lose light and truth?
 .
And if handed down from our fathers three and four generations causes cursings and not blessings?
 .
Just some early morning thoughts. Thanks again for the response.” 
 .
My reply to “R”
 .
OMGosh!

 .
Your characterization of the saints walking around with their triple combinations with that abominable spiritual wife doctrine in it thinking they have the fulness is profound!

 .
I just went back to bed and shared what you said with Mrs Watcher and she blurted out two scriptures that came to her mind.
 .
The first was a few passages in Ezekiel 20 which could have typological or literal application to modern Israel:
 .
1 Notwithstanding the children rebelled against me: they walked not in my statutes, neither kept my judgments to do them, which if a man do, he shall even live in them; they polluted my sabbaths: then I said, I would pour out my fury upon them, to accomplish my anger against them in the wilderness.
22  Nevertheless I withdrew mine hand, and wrought for my name’s sake, that it should not be polluted in the sight of the heathen, in whose sight I brought them forth.
23  I lifted up mine hand unto them also in the wilderness, that I would scatter them among the heathen, and disperse them through the countries;
24  Because they had not executed my judgments, but had despised my statutes, and had polluted my sabbaths, and their eyes were after their fathers’ idols.
25  Wherefore I gave them also statutes that were not good, and judgments whereby they should not live;
26  And I polluted them in their own gifts, in that they caused to pass through the fire all that openeth the womb, that I might make them desolate, to the end that they might know that I am the LORD.
27  ¶ Therefore, son of man, speak unto the house of Israel, and say unto them, Thus saith the Lord GOD; Yet in this your fathers have blasphemed me, in that they have committed a trespass against me.
28  For when I had brought them into the land, for the which I lifted up mine hand to give it to them, then they saw every high hill, and all the thick trees, and they offered there their sacrifices, and there they presented the provocation of their offering: there also they made their sweet savour, and poured out there their drink offerings.
29  Then I said unto them, What is the high place whereunto ye go?  And the name thereof is called Bamah unto this day.
30  Wherefore say unto the house of Israel, Thus saith the Lord GOD; Are ye polluted after the manner of your fathers?  and commit ye whoredom after their abominations?
31  For when ye offer your gifts, when ye make your sons to pass through the fire, ye pollute yourselves with all your idols, even unto this day: and shall I be enquired of by you, O house of Israel?  As I live, saith the Lord GOD, I will not be enquired of by you.
 .
The second passage she uttered is the one that should have come to my mind first when you posed the question.
 .
Yea, it shall come in a day when there shall be churches built up that shall say: Come unto me, and for your money you shall be forgiven of your sins.
33  O ye wicked and perverse and stiffnecked people, why have ye built up churches unto yourselves to get gain?  Why have ye transfigured the holy word of God, that ye might bring damnation upon your souls?  Behold, look ye unto the revelations of God; for behold, the time cometh at that day when all these things must be fulfilled.”
 .
“R” sent the following response
 .
“Wow! Gotta love a woman who can quote scripture when woken up from a dead sleep. You have yourself a remarkable woman. Tell Mrs. Watcher thank you for the scripture”
.
Interestingly, I had just recently received an email from the “naughty missionary” I have previously posted about, that follows my blog while on his mission. Here is a snippet from that email:
 .

“All of these amazing things aside, the reason I wanted to give you an update is actually to detail you in on something else very important that occurred this week.

 

A set of elders were studying section 132, and they became concerned by a few things in it. The thing that confused them most of all interesting enough was the verses that detail Abraham being a god, already having entered into his exaltation.

 

They asked me about it… And it was such an obscure contradiction I couldn’t help but be impressed. I told them that I didn’t believe in 132 at all. …

 

This, you can imagine, has opened up a can of worms with other missionaries when they heard about it. So far the dust seems to have settled. In any case, I thought you might find it inspiring to know that even average missionaries with average church history knowledge are seeing discrepancies in 132.

.

 Can you Imagine that? A missionary telling his fellow companions that he does not believe section 132?
.
Praise God
.
I hope they don’t send this amazing Elder home early!
Comments are closed.

