“The Prophecies and Promises.. Shall All be Fulfilled”

“The Prophecies and Promises.. Shall All be Fulfilled”

Many years ago when I began having an awakening about the serious condition that the church was in, I spoke at a few firesides to share my findings.

In this endeavor I was successful in offending several people.

One of them told one of my fellow employees where I worked that I was the anti-Christ.

Others apparently called the headquarters of the LDS church to file their complaints.

This resulted in a call from my stake president.

My spiritual awakening had begun in Holiday Utah but I had since felt impressed to gradually move northward, which would result in a rather solitary existence in Idaho.

Nevertheless, my trek northward included a short stop in North Salt Lake and one in Layton Utah, each for about 2 years.

It was during my stay in North Salt Lake that I was asked to meet with the Stake President.

I had never previously met my Stake President in North Salt Lake.

I naively assumed that he wanted to discuss the scriptures when his secretary called to set up the appointment with me so I showed up with my scriptures.

When he saw that I had brought my scriptures, he made it clear that he was not interested in a scriptural conversation with me.

This guy, like every other Stake President I have every had, was a wonderful, Christlike man with good intent.

He was just doing his job.

I really liked him and I purchased several used cars from him in the years to follow (he owned a used car dealership at the time)

Anyway, during our little chat he informed me that there had been a few complaints filed and that I might want to tone down my rhetoric when I gave presentations at firesides and study groups, etc.

He then shared the following observation and warning.

“Virtually everyone I know that has gotten deep into the scriptures and the history of the church like you are doing, has eventually either left the church or been kicked out of it!”

I believe that what he actually meant was

“Virtually everyone I know that has gotten deep into the scriptures and the history of the church, like you are doing, without using the approved study guides of the church, has eventually either left the church or been kicked out of it!”

(BTW as mentioned in one of my last posts, there is actually a third group of individuals that get deep into the scriptures, that don’t leave the church or get kicked out. They opt to just quietly and prudently observe and participate to whatever degree they feel comfortable with)

His observation rang loudly in my ears.

However, it had the opposite effect on me that he wanted it to have. The reason for this is that I had already drunk deep from the words of Christ in the scriptures and I was already receiving my marching orders from a different voice than the one that the Stake President was receiving his marching orders from.

As I pondered the statement and warning that he gave I wondered why the holy and infallible word of our Father in Heaven should be so feared?

Why would God’s word be such a stumbling block to those sincerely seeking understanding via his word?

It didn’t make sense to me that priesthood guidance should be needed to read and understand the scriptures by the spirit.

The obvious conclusion I arrived at was that the problem wasn’t the scriptures, it was those loyal to the latter day church who were offended by what the scriptures had to say when taken at face value and under the influence of the spirit.

In this post I want to share one of the most powerful scriptural passages I have ever read.

The passage I am referring to is probably the primary one that changed the course of my spiritual journey in this life.

It changed how I read modern revelation and all of the other scriptures.

Section 1:37-38

37  Search these commandments, for they are true and faithful, and the prophecies and promises which are in them shall all be fulfilled.

38  What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.

Although I had read the above passage many times before, one day, long before I met with the Stake President in North Salt Lake, it really jumped out at me.

When I pondered the passages above, I was shocked and baffled.

The reason for my dismay is that I had just previously taken a few days and voraciously read the complete D&C from beginning to end, taking copious notes of every topic that interested me.

During that note taking process, I could not help but notice a significant number of  unconditional prophecies and promises that were made by the Lord, that had NEVER COME TO PASS!

Many of the most perplexing promises and prophecies actually had to do with the lives of specifically identified people who had lived during the ministry of Joseph Smith and had now been dead for well over 130+ years.

The unconditional promises the Lord made to many of these people clearly did not take place during their mortal lives.

They died without the unconditional promises being fulfilled.

My initial response was to just shelf the conundrum and figure things out in the next life, but for some reason, I couldn’t do that this time.

I felt that God was speaking directly to me and I felt he was challenging me.

I kind of wanted to pass on the challenge, and avoid the further cognitive dissonance that might follow such an undertaking , but something clicked within me when I read it this time.

All of the sudden I felt an urgent passion to just know the truth about these discrepancies.

Strangely, I had always had a burning belief in Christ and the LDS restoration, nevertheless, I knew that there were some “apparent discrepancies” in the prophecies contained in the D&C and I was no longer going to look the other way and pretend they didn’t exist.

Joseph Smith had once said:

Take away the book of Mormon, and the [MODERN] REVELATIONS, and where is our religion? We have none.

Clearly, modern revelation was just as important to Mormonism as the Book of Mormon was.

I had noticed that many people I knew had directed their focus almost entirely on the Book of Mormon and they felt uncomfortable with the D&C.

I could see why.

But it did not make sense to me that the Book of Mormon would be true while modern revelation was of questionable origin.

According to President Joseph Fielding Smith, the D&C is more important to our generation than the other books of scripture because the content was given to and about the Latter day Saints:

President Joseph Fielding Smith bore witness of the significance of the book for the latter days, saying:

“In my judgment there is no book on earth yet come to man as important as the book known as the Doctrine and Covenants, with all due respect to the Book of Mormon, and the Bible, and the Pearl of Great Price, which we say are our standards in doctrine. The book of Doctrine and Covenants to us stands in a peculiar position above them all.

“I am going to tell you why. When I say that, do not for a moment think I do not value the Book of Mormon, the Bible, and the Pearl of Great Price, just as much as any man that lives; I think I do.

I do not know of anybody who has read them more, and I appreciate them; they are wonderful; they contain doctrine and revelation and commandments that we should heed; but the Bible is a history containing the doctrine and commandments given to the people anciently.

That applies also to the Book of Mormon. It is the doctrine and the history and the commandments of the people who dwelt upon this continent anciently.

“But this Doctrine and Covenants contains the word of God to those who dwell here now.

It is our book.

It belongs to the Latter-day Saints.

More precious than gold, the Prophet says we should treasure it more than the riches of the whole earth.

I wonder if we do?

If we value it, understand it, and know what it contains, we will value it more than wealth; it is worth more to us than the riches of the earth.” (Doctrines of Salvation, 3:198–99.)

I really tend to agree with what President Smith said.

Although I love all of the books of scripture, the D&C is directed specifically to the gentile church of the latter days directly from the Lord.

Nevertheless, I understand why many people shy away from modern revelation and I also understand why critics  of the church have such a huge problem with it.

Raised in a Cult?

I remembered people in the mission field telling me that the only reason I was a member of the Mormon church was because I was raised in it.

Now, as I read this amazing passage in section one,  I was being reminded of something very uncomfortable about my religion that I had shelved for many years.

It had to do with the fact that God’s batting average on the fulfillment of his prophecies in modern revelation, was less than stellar.

Were these prophecies written by God or by a conspiring and delusional man?

Had I been deceived?

Was I just indoctrinated and duped?

Had I been raised in a religious cult?

A Book of Unfulfilled Prophecies and Promises

I had previously been able to sweep this problem of unfulfilled prophecies under the carpet over the years as I read the D&C.

I had also been able to sweep it under the carpet when I would read the accusations about unfulfilled prophecies levied by anti-Mormons.

I had even been able to sweep it under the carpet when people questioned my religious integrity by saying the only reason I was a member of the Mormon church was because I was raised in the religion and indoctrinated from an early age.

This time, however, I could no longer sweep the failed prophecies under the carpet because the God of Mormonism was now taunting and challenging me, indeed, he was COMMANDING me to search these things and prove him.

I guess one of the reasons that I had never dwelt on, or investigated, the apparent discrepancies in the D&C in the past is because I felt guilty doing so.

It felt like I was weak in the faith to wonder about and question such things.

It made me feel like a lukewarm doubter.

But now everything had changed.

It was no longer my curiosity, or accusations of anti-Mormons, or even insults from skeptics that was motivating me.

I decided to take the challenge very seriously and scrutinize every unfulfilled promise in light of history and the prophesies in the Book of Mormon, New Testament, and Old Testament.

My new adventure in researching and documenting my findings took me on deep keyword searches in the scriptures and the history of the church.

It made me feel like an investigative journalist, of sorts.  (Despite the fact that I have no journalistic abilities and I have learning disabilities and often have difficulty with spelling, grammar, and constructing intelligible sentences that are less than 1,000 words long.)

The fact that God was challenging me to search these things gave me a whole new perspective on the issue of scrutinizing God’s WORD.

I no longer felt dirty or guilty about researching these things because God had now given me permission, yea, even a commandment, to evaluate and scrutinize these things.

I could approach this research project with an open, honest  mind, and without guilt.

I could be a critical thinker and challenge each premise as I gathered all of the evidence because I felt I had God’s permission and endorsement in doing so.

I kind of felt a freedom I had never felt before even though I realized the assignment could end in some very disturbing findings and have some very profound consequences in my life.

So I began my quest by re-reading the D&C all over again.

This time I would do it specifically looking for, dissecting, and, documenting every single unconditional promise and prophecy that was contained therein.

Again, I realized that what I was doing was very dangerous and that it could really challenge and/or completely destroy my “testimony” of the gospel.

I committed myself to accept God’s challenge and I suspected it was going to change my life forever.

And it has.

My research resulted in my conversion to the belief in an omniscient God.

I believe with all my heart that every unconditional promise in every true revelation that Joseph Smith received is going to come true and I now know that the these promises and prophecies are completely consistent with the ancient prophecies in the Bible and Book of Mormon.

During my research I became more intimately acquainted with the infinite foreknowledge of an all knowing God, one that lives in ETERNITY but has all temporal time pertaining to this earth, past present and future, continually before his eyes.

I have come to understand that God cannot lie or make mistakes about future events because he is actually looking at them while making promises about their fulfillment to those of us that live in temporal TIME.

During this spiritual education I also became converted to the mystical religion of New Testament Christianity which incorporates the mystical prophecies of the Old Testament and New Testament. I began to gain an understanding and appreciation for much of Isaiah’s commentary, referring to people from past generations rising up from the dead and brushing the dust off as literal events that take place BEFORE probationary time is completed.

Much of the prophetic passages of scripture that I used to place during the millennium now took their rightful place earlier in the timeline of prophetic events and they became significantly more pertinent to my own salvation.

The research confirmed many other things including the truthfulness that God himself condescended and came to this earth to take upon himself the form of a man.

He was crucified by wicked men.

He suffered on a cross to take upon himself the sins of the world.

He mystically broke the bands of death and arose from the dead and was seen by hundreds of people.

He also resurrected hundreds of the Old Testament Saints.

The good news that he brought offers salvation to those who believe on his name and obey the ordinances which lead to the spiritual rebirth that is described in the scriptures.

Many aspects of mystical Christianity, including the concept of atonement, may appear to defy human logic and reasoning. They are mystical and otherworldly.

The amazing thing about Christianity is that you can believe it without fully comprehending it.

Believing it requires childlike faith.

My research resulted in the knowledge that the marvelous work and a wonder spoken of by Isaiah is also mystical and miraculous and transcends the logical understanding and precepts of the natural man.

It was revealed to me that the marvelous work did not begin during Joseph Smith’s 14 year public ministry, rather, he, and others, were laying the foundation of a marvelous work that would take place four generations later , probably IN OUR LIFE TIME and possibly in the very near future!

The results of my research completely changed how I read the passages in modern revelation and I began to see how many of the prophecies were directly related to the ancient prophecies in the Old and New Testaments and the Book of Mormon.

The research also resulted in the realization that all of the Old Testament prophecies about people returning from the dead are verily true.

God’s anointed servants from past dispensations will awake and arise and brush the dust from their previously sleeping physical bodies. God really will restore the judges of Israel that previously lived on the earth, as at first, just as Isaiah promises.

It is not necessarily clear how this will take place.

It probably isn’t supposed to be.

The key is to exercise faith, be open to the spirit and be found watching when the events take place.

As a result of this research, I now have a perfect brightness of hope that all of the unconditional promises in modern revelation will come to pass and that many of the personalities listed in the D&C that received unconditional promises of the Lord will return at the appointed time and fulfill their missions when the dispensation of the fulness of times is finally ushered in.

My research ultimately resulted in the three watches blog which documents numerous scriptural witnesses and historical events pertaining to what I refer to as the doctrine of the three watches.

Christ came in the first dispensation (watch) in the Meridian of time.

He came again during the ushering in of a second dispensation (watch) during the ministry of Joseph Smith.

He (and the Father) will come again in the third dispensation (watch) when the Marvelous Work and a Wonder take place and the dispensation of the fulness of times is ushered in.

That blog was my very poor attempt to articulate how and why the promises and prophecies in modern revelation will come to pass through God’s strange act of returning some of his servants to the earth.

As I immersed myself in modern revelation and began to get clarity on the doctrine, I began to be able to differentiate passages that had to do with the contemporary fulfillment of prophecies pertaining to the day and age that Joseph Smith was living in, vs. the intermingled passages that were clearly speaking about the marvelous work that would take place in the 3rd watch.

Many of the prophecies had a dual fulfillment.

Many were typological of what was taking place at the time, yet would have a literal fulfillment four generations later.

Just as the events that Isaiah spoke about during his day “had been and shall be“, many of the prophecies brought forth by Joseph Smith would also have a dual fulfillment.

And all things that he spake have been and shall be, even according to the words which he spake.” 3rdf Nephi 23:3

One of the things that becomes pretty obvious when focusing on the prophecies and promises contained in the D&C is that there are two general categories of prophesies. They are “Conditional Promises” and “Unconditional Promises“.

Conditional promises always have an “IF” in them.

These conditional promises only come to pass predicated on certain contingencies.

They are not really set in stone, rather they represent a possible outcome predicated on certain factors usually having to do with the faithfulness of the person or group of people that are involved.

Unconditional promises on the other hand, do not involve conditions.

Contrary to the popular teachings of men, unconditional prophecies are not subject to change based on predicated events or faithfulness, they are set in stone.

God is able to view future events take place even while declaring to mortal man that they are going to take place.

This is because he lived in ETERNITY while mortal man lives in TEMPORAL TIME.

Unconditional promises will happen, period.

From God’s perspective, they already have happened.

One of the great things about these unconditional prophecies is that they provide bits and pieces of information about how divine deliverance is going to take place during the next several years and who the players will be in the dispensation of the fulness of times.

Since we are quickly approaching the time of deliverance, I have pondered doing a series of short posts, documenting chronologically, by section number, the unconditional prophecies in modern revelation and how they related to the prophesied events of the last days. But alas, I haven’t even had time to proceed doing the series pertaining to the secret historical events of the LDS restoration movement.

It would probably be folly for me to attempt another serious at this time.

Besides, those who are interested in this topic and ready to accept God’s challenge in section one, really need to do this exercise for themselves.

I will, however, end this post with a textbook example of one of the unconditional prophecies in modern revelation that “SHALL.. BE FULFILLED

The passage is found in section 1:1-11

HEARKEN, O ye people of my church, saith the voice of him who dwells on high, and whose eyes are upon all men; yea, verily I say: Hearken ye people from afar; and ye that are upon the islands of the sea, listen together.

2  For verily the voice of the Lord is unto all men, and there is none to escape; and there is no eye that shall not see, neither ear that shall not hear, neither heart that shall not be penetrated.

3  And the rebellious shall be pierced with much sorrow; for their iniquities shall be spoken upon the housetops, and their secret acts shall be revealed.

4  And the voice of warning shall be unto all people, by the mouths of my disciples, whom I have chosen in these last days.

5  And they shall go forth and none shall stay them, for I the Lord have commanded them.

6  Behold, this is mine authority, and the authority of my servants, and my preface unto the book of my commandments, which I have given them to publish unto you, O inhabitants of the earth.

7  Wherefore, fear and tremble, O ye people, for what I the Lord have decreed in them shall be fulfilled.

8  And verily I say unto you, that they who go forth, bearing these tidings unto the inhabitants of the earth, to them is power given to seal both on earth and in heaven, the unbelieving and rebellious;

9  Yea, verily, to seal them up unto the day when the wrath of God shall be poured out upon the wicked without measure

10  Unto the day when the Lord shall come to recompense unto every man according to his work, and measure to every man according to the measure which he has measured to his fellow man.

11  Wherefore the voice of the Lord is unto the ends of the earth, that all that will hear may hear

Commentary and Summary

Be it known that according to the infallible word of God, the day is going to come when the fulness of the power of the Melchizedek priesthood, will be manifest upon this earth by God and his servants.

Which servants?

According to the above unconditional prophesy, it will be those disciples that published the Book of Commandments and the Doctrine and Covenants to the world.

Joseph Smith and his brethren that brought forth and published the revelations in the Book of Commandments and the Doctrine and Covenants must verily return  with great power if God’s unconditional promise is to be fulfilled.

These first laborers of the last kingdom must return and fulfill their assignments according to the promise of God.

I believe that those that reject the unconditional prophecies contained in modern revelation and think they can find salvation in the teachings of the Book of Mormon while questioning the literal fulfillment  of God unconditional promises in modern revelation may well reject God’s servants when God uses them to test the faith of the saints.

Even though it may appear to many that deeply study the history of the LDS restoration movement, that it failed to bring forth Zion and many of the other objectives provided in modern revelation, there is an underlying storyline.

A foundation was laid that will enable a great work to take place at a later time.

The Authority of the Fulness of the Priesthood

According to the passage quoted above from section one, the authority of the true fulness of the priesthood will be such that nobody will stay the hands of God’s servants when they go forth in power to warn the wicked and prune the vineyard for the last time.

Those Who Were CALLED

The Melchizedek priesthood was restored to the earth at the Morley Farm in June of 1831 when 23 men were CALLED to the highest priesthood.

The CHOSEN Will Receive Power from On High

In June of 1833 God revealed the grand secret of how the strange act was going to take place at a future time when God provides DELIVERANCE for his saints.

At that time he revealed that many of the High Priests that had been CALLED at the Morley Farm had not been CHOSEN.

He promised that at a future SOLEMN ASSEMBLY, they who would be CHOSEN would be ENDOWED WITH POWER FROM ON HIGH. (See section 95)

First Elders Promised Endowment of Power

 In June of 1834, (section 105) the first elders of the church who had previously had their names enrolled in the book of the sanctified were promised that they would receive the endowment of power at a future time in the Kirtland Temple.

Those CALLED and CHOSEN to be SANCTIFIED

One day later, in an uncannonized revelation, 15 of the High Priests from the land of Zion were CALLED and CHOSEN to become sanctified so that they could fulfill their callings and to gather the strength of God’s house when it is time for the redemption of Zion. (See section 105:33-37 and the revelation given the following day)

On January 21st, the High Priests from Kirtland and Zion that had been CALLED and CHOSEN received their preparatory anointing.

This anointing was preparatory to being crowned with power from on high in a solemn assembly so that they can go forth with power and authority of the Melchizedek Priesthood.

Solemn Assembly & Dedication of the Kirtland Temple

It was hoped and anticipated by many that the Promise of the Father and the endowment of power from on high would be realized on March 27th 1836 at the solomn assembly and dedication of the Kirtland Temple.

This promise was not realized at that time.

When the solemn assembly of 1836 took place, it was a great disappointment and the sealing of the previous anointing appears to have failed to take place.

Nevertheless, as prophetically documented in section 88 as well as the prophecies of Joel and Zephaniah, the long awaited solemn assembly that will usher in the dispensation of the fulness of times will take place when God’s servants return and brush the dust off of their clothes.

According to section 124:28, the fulness of the priesthood had been lost by the time the saints fled to Nauvoo.

The prophecies given by Isaiah and throughout modern revelation are that this priesthood power will be restored to the earth and to those who had temporarily fallen and lost it. (See section 113:7-10)

Who were the disciples that published the revelations to the world that will return to go forth in power?

The Prophet, Seer and Revelator, through which the revelations were received was Joseph Smith Jr.. Many other of Joseph’s associates were involved in publishing the word of God in the latter days.

These brethren will be used by God when the Father does his work.

If you do not have a testimony of the truthfulness of all of the unconditional promises contained in modern revelation, I encourage you to test the promise of God contained in section one.

37  Search these commandments, for they are true and faithful, and the prophecies and promises which are in them shall all be fulfilled.

38  What I the Lord have spoken, I have spoken, and I excuse not myself; and though the heavens and the earth pass away, my word shall not pass away, but shall all be fulfilled, whether by mine own voice or by the voice of my servants, it is the same.

10 Responses to “The Prophecies and Promises.. Shall All be Fulfilled”

  1. JLC says:

    Watcher,

    Again, very insightful. I am currently doing a study of the Book of Mormon which will take a couple of months but after reading this post I am going to take a line by line reading of the D&C. I’v have done that with the Book of Mormon and found many hidden treasures. I have hesitated doing it on the D&C because of personal reasons but I feel from reading this that it is time to do it.

    I too, am a big believer that the unconditional promises will take place. I was glad to hear from this post that you are still unsure how it will all come together.

    I have read all of your Three watches blog series. I found it most interesting. However, it never ringed completely true to me how you believe all of this was going to unfold. I’m not well versed enough to tell you were you are off base but I do know when things drive me to my knees after reading things that they are from God and some time your conclusions left me with a stupor.

    I think the doctrine of eternal lives can answer some of the things you bring up of how these men of the restoration can return and fulfill there calling. I”m not sold completely on that doctrine either but from many hours of searching into it it leads me to believe that there is something to it.

    I have also wonder if they can return as resurrected beings to aid a true mortal servant as in the case of Moroni helping Joseph Smith in his ministry but was not seen publicly. We know from D&C 27:5 that Moroni still has a part to play in the great sacrament that is mention in that verse.

    There is just no persistent in the scriptures to show that some of the things you write about has ever happened. I know it will be a strange act that the Lord does so I’m still open to your perspective on how you think this can happen. In any case, I find this a very interesting and important subject. One I’m hoping I’ll be around for.

    I’m looking forward to going through the D&C.

    Thank you for your work.

    BTW, as I have mentioned to you before, I’m one of those guys in the third group that spends hours and hours in the scriptures every week and does what I can in the Church without causing a big stir. I do get tired of the garbage that gets taught and for the most part just bite my lip instead of saying something.

  2. JLC

    You said-

    I too, am a big believer that the unconditional promises will take place. I was glad to hear from this post that you are still unsure how it will all come together.

    I have always felt that the beginning of the Marvelous Work will probably take everybody by surprise. It may begin as a very secretive event like the first vision that most people will only hear about years later, or it may be a shout from heaven or the sound of a trump or an earth quake, etc.

    Regarding what form the servants return in, I know people that think the servants will come back as angels or spirits. Others think they will be resurrected beings.

    One friend of mine thinks they have literally been reborn into mortality and are already on the earth walking around.

    Some of the passages seem to indicate that they will be restored to a mortal condition and literally rise up from their graves.

    I am just trying to be open and listen to the spirit without setting up stakes and preconceived notions.

  3. Inspire says:

    I think you are on the right track, but you dismiss the Book of Mormon too quickly. And while the D & C has some good nuggets, it has been changed so much that it is unreliable. Forget about the Bible. The B of M describes it as a corrupt tool of the devil, meant to bind men with flaxen cords.

    No, the Book of Mormon is our book. And the message to us? Repent and turn to Christ. When we do so, we will receive the “greater things” which we are to deliver to the House of Israel.

    Yes, it has taken 4 generations for us to see our weakness, and now, the Lord is returning our “talent” so that we may more abundantly have charity for the seed of Lehi. Hopefully, we don’t miss our chance.

  4. I will respond as if I am to take your comments seriously.

    “you dismiss the Book of Mormon too quickly”

    When and where did I ever dismiss the Book of Mormon?

    Modern revelation testifies of the Book of Mormon profusely and makes about 16 references to it.

    You cannot take modern revelation seriously and then dismiss the Book of Mormon.

    The Book of Mormon is obviously very important and is a witness of Jesus Christ along with the Bible. The point of the post is that D&C is often “dismissed to quickly” by Mormons. (Your comments being a great example)

    “And while the D & C has some good nuggets, it has been changed so much that it is unreliable.”

    Modern Revelation is very reliable.

    The Book of Commandments was written to the Gentile Church prior to the fulness of the gospel being rejected. The commandments in it are true and faithful and there are virtually no changes in it.

    As I have pointed out in other posts, the 1835 D&C was not meant to be an updated or corrected version of the Book of Commandments.

    It was written to a church that had rejected the fulness and had the name of Christ taken out for that very reason.

    The changes in it were inspired and contextually accurate. They are predicated on the failure of the saints to be faithful to the original commandments and the cause of redeeming Zion.

    The changes therein do not contradict the original revelations given in the Book of Commandments because they are speaking to a fallen church and the context has changed.

    The 1835 D&C contains the Doctrines and Covenants necessary to get the church back on track once they repent.

    It is true that parts of the post 1835 editions of the D&C have been corrupted by Brigham Young and other well meaning individuals that had no mandate from the Lord to add and delete revelations…. but the corruptions are easily identifiable when compared to the 1835 D&C.

    “Forget about the Bible. The B of M describes it as a corrupt tool of the devil, meant to bind men with flaxen cords”

    I believe it is because you have taken modern revelation lightly that your mind has become darkened about the importance of the Bible.

    Modern revelation confirms the importance of the Bible:

    “And the Book of Mormon and the holy scriptures are given of me for your instruction”

    By taking the Bible lightly, you are rejecting the instruction from the Lord.

    The passage you are referring to in the Book of Mormon says nothing about the Bible being a flaxen cord used by the Devil to bind men. Rather, it says that corrupt “churches”, “secret combinations” and the “devil” act as a flaxen cord:

    “And the Gentiles are lifted up in the pride of their eyes, and have stumbled, because of the greatness of their stumbling block, that they have built up many churches; nevertheless, they put down the power and miracles of God, and preach up unto themselves their own wisdom and their own learning, that they may get gain and grind upon the face of the poor.
    21 And there are many churches built up which cause envyings, and strifes, and malice.
    22 And there are also secret combinations, even as in times of old, according to the combinations of the devil, for he is the founder of all these things; yea, the founder of murder, and works of darkness; yea, and he leadeth them by the neck with a flaxen cord, until he bindeth them with his strong cords forever.
    23 For behold, my beloved brethren, I say unto you that the Lord God worketh not in darkness.”

    While there have been some changes in the Bible, they are easily detectable using the following things:

    -The changes in the JST
    -Supporting doctrinal clarifications in the D&C and Book of Mormon
    -Taking the Holy Ghost as your guide

    If your comments were meant as satire, forgive me for taking them seriously

  5. Inspire says:

    It is apparent that you are unwilling to “go a mile” with me twain, but rather dish out not-so-subtle insults and make sure I am aware of your intellectual superiority. So be it. The only thing I have have to say is that the great “stumbling block” that is being referring to in the passage you quoted is the corrupted Book of the Lamb, aka, the Bible.

    “…because of the many plain and precious things which have been taken out of the book, which were plain unto the understanding of the children of men, according to the plainness which is in the Lamb of God—because of these things which are taken away out of the gospel of the Lamb, an exceedingly great many do STUMBLE, yea, insomuch that Satan hath great power over them.”

    “And after they go forth by the hand of the twelve apostles of the Lamb, from the Jews unto the Gentiles, thou seest the formation of that great and abominable church, which is most abominable above all other churches; for behold, they have taken away from the gospel of the Lamb many parts which are plain and most precious; and also many covenants of the Lord have they taken away.

    And all this have they done that they might PERVERT THE RIGHT WAYS OF THE LORD, that they might blind the eyes and harden the hearts of the children of men.”

    One last thing: I do understand the importance of the Bible. Without it, the Book of Mormon would never have seen the light of day, and would have slipped into obscurity with little attention. But as Joseph tried to tell us at the first conference of the Church and again at the first conference of the Relief Society (quoting Ezekiel 14), the Lord will answer us who set up stumbling blocks before our faces through the “multitude of our idols.” He speaks “Bible-eese,” (thus, the King James English of the B of M) even though it is our stumbling block. To what end? So that we could see our weakness, turn to Christ, and come to know “true points of doctrine.” At that point, our weakness becomes our strength, and perhaps finally we can receive the “greater things” and deliver them to the Remnant of Lehi.

    God bless, Watcher. Keep on watchin’!

  6. Inspire

    There is no need to play the martyr or be thin skinned. I devoted an entire post to the importance of modern revelation and you completely dismissed it with this falsehood:

    “..it has been changed so much that it is unreliable”

    T hat is a false and very dangerous doctrine to be perpetuating.

    When you choose to come on to another person’s blog and falsely accuse them of dismissing the Book of Mormon and then challenge the entire premise of their post, you need to be prepared for a little blow back.

    It has nothing to do with intellectual superiority.

    It has to do with belief in God’s word and all of the canons of scripture that jointly testify of the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    I had previously provided the following declaration from modern revelation prior to your most recent comment on my post:

    “And the Book of Mormon and the holy scriptures are given of me for your instruction”

    Do you believe that statement came from God or not?

    That declaration was given in October of 1830, long before the inspired version was completed to correct any errors in the Bible.

    It was not a temporary thing, the Bible was to contain important instruction for the saints from that time onward.

    Ideally the saints were supposed to finance the publication of the inspired version which would correct some errors but it was never appropriately published to the world under the direction of God’s anointed servant.

    Bible was extremely relevant the way it was.

    The Lord was saying that the Bible was still very relevant along with the Book of Mormon and modern revelation.

    If you check your church history you will see that Joseph Smith continued to preach from the Bible significantly more often than the Book of Mormon until the day he died.

    Your authoritative “forget the Bible” is wrong and is coming from someone who apparently has little regard for the holy word of God in both the Bible and modern revelation.

    A stumbling block is part of the path.

    It is no reason to leave the path entirely.

    A person needs to recognize where the stumbling block is and step over it, keeping their eyes fixed on the destination, not abandon the entire path altogether.

    Your proclaimed love of the Book of Mormon will only be a curse to you if you cannot accept it in conjunction with the other standard works that jointly teach the truth and testify of Christ.

    BTW I love you… LOL

  7. atruemessenger says:

    Shalom Watcher,

    I really liked your avatar, so I made a similar one. Now we can speak in [the] tongue[s] of Angels… baby tongues?!? 🙂

    I am not really moved to comment upon this specific post, however it being the most current one, I felt it would be the best place to request how I might email or private message you about some of your other beliefs.

    I had run into your posts years ago and felled to looked more closely. This time I did and have read most of your earlier posts, will complete the rest of them this week. I find we have some commonality in doctrinal insights, a rare thing these days. I would like to explore a few of them more closer.

    I have always said of myself, ‘To unbelievers, I am a Zealot, to true believers, I am a Heretic’. Many of the doctrines I embrace are far less documented then your beliefs and doctrines. So am I in good company?

    We cannot escape your main doctrinal belief, The Three Watches. If you are interested and time permitting, I may share a similar doctrine that fits hand and glove with your insight.

    One question to start… What event did you feel was really significant in 1993 out of your list? You do not have to answer it publicly. I do not hold your belief in 1993/2033 but that was a very insightful year as far as seeing how far the Adversary power in the government extends. And here it does tie in nicely with your correct understanding of the foreknowledge of G_d. How can the Adversary be so foolish enough as to think he can frustrate the plan of G_d? Why what do you think the NSA with its algorithms are looking for… Terrorist? Do not kid yourself, they are trying to figure out who is who in eternity, here. War is coming, and the real trials. Remember the Christian and the Lions, they were the dress rehearsal 😦

    Also, you are the one person still living who I found that notice the Meridian of Time, and embrace there is 8000 years. A close reading shows that there is eight days of creation. Six days of proposing to create, one day of eternal rest or Shabbot, and on the eight day, G_d created everything at once.

    Now understanding the path of eternal progression is required to understand how He does this… Each DAY a DIFFERENT G_D. 1st day Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather, then 2nd/3rd day(s) Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather, then 4th day Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather, and Great, Great, Great Grandfather, and Great, Great Grandfather, 5th day Great Grandfather, 6th day Grandfather, and the 7th day Father. Sorry about the redundancy, but I hope you get the picture… and this can change through the Law of Adoption.

    We are in a one room schoolhouse… and everyone is not in the same grade!

    Until then, TM (I definitely am a unregistered TM)

  8. I enjoyed your comments and your new Avatar!

    onewhoiswatching@gmail.com

  9. I confess you were a little cuter than I was… LOL

  10. atruemessenger says:

    That because I was five years old and had time to grow hair… LOL

